Saturday, March 9, 2013

Game Show.

I feel bad cuz I got an A for the physiology MCQ, the third test we've had in this season of "THE DUEL TO THE DEATH!". Haha. The "duel to the death" thing, just made it up. But it consists of 3 tests and 1 exam, the exam having a written part and an oral part, all in the space of 3 weeks. The first was Biochem (biomolecules) 15%, Anatomy 15%, then Physiology 25%. The exam is for the Dental Science module, and we don't have a summer exam for it so THIS IS IT. This is THE exam we HAVE to pass. 

But anywho. This season is a time of dangerously high levels of stress, bringing along with it crazy sleeping patterns, eating habits, and consequent weight gain, neck pain and headaches. It's really been tough. So far the tests, by the grace of God and also last minute cramming at 4am in the morning, haven't been too bad. 

The last physiology test, I didn't finish studying Renal Physiology and didn't finish looking at the MCQ questions, but I just prayed and hoped for the best. Got an A. Granted, an A is 70% and above, so I could've gotten a pretty low A. But I put in 9 Don't Knows. So that's quite good, no? (In the MCQ, you have three choices, True, False or Don't Know. It's +1 for a right answer, -0.5 for an incorrect one, and 0 for a Don't Know). Sam whatsapped me just now and she got a B. I'm quite surprised because she was so focused on Physiology, she started studying for it even before the Biochem test. It's because she got a C for the last MCQ before Christmas, so she wanted to get an A this time. And she said she was depressed because she thinks she might've gotten an A if she hadn't risked a few questions and put Don't Know instead. 

Seriously man. This negative marking stuff is a joke. It's like a bubble game show man. As if we don't have enough to worry about. We still have to worry about whether, when you're not sure what the answer is, if you should take the risk or just play it safe. You know?! Try and calculate the odds, bla bla bla. It's really a joke. -.- But. I'm glad though that this is the last stretch of The Duel. Hahahaha. But it's so not over yet. DS is sooooooo hard to study for. I think all of us are struggling cuz there's so much to study but it's all over the place so you don't really know what to study. There are 4 components anyway. One general one, where you answer questions about different fields in dentistry and the different dental diseases blaaaaaaah -.-, then there's behavioural science, the psychology crap I hate, then there's dental materials, then ethics and law. Ethics and law makes me mad cuz, we might get case study questions for the oral and honestly, I chose a science-based degree because my brain is dead and I cannot form opinions and I would just say "aww, kasian la bah this patient", and not some smart "oh that's clinical negligence on the part of the dentist" or whatever. Zzzzzz. But WHO CARES? The uni certainly doesn't care. So yup. Back to the books. Cuz no amount of complaining or blogging will help me in any way. Haha. 

This is a nice song. (yes, The Duel also brings along with it the discovery of new songs which is a consequence of procrastination haha). The lyrics are pretty meaningful. She looks kinda scary, but the end of the video is great. 

Lost the battle, win the war!


13:52 Sat 9/3/13

No comments:

Post a Comment